PUTRAJAYA: Eighteen people have been named to the government’s National Consultative Committee on Political Funding, which met yesterday and adopted its terms of reference.

Paul Low Seng Kuan, a minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, heads the committee.

He said one of the terms of reference was to identify, discuss and address the issue of the political funding of political parties and politicians. Another is to examine and evaluate best practices, legal mechanisms and rules used in other countries to curb and prevent corruption in political funding.

It is also to draft legal and regulatory requirements to facilitate the monitoring, transparency and accountability in political parties funding.

Low said the panel would have talks with politicians, political parties and stakeholders on political funding.

It has also made proposals to the Cabinet on support it needs under the law to administer and monitor compliance towards political funding mechanisms

Membership of the committee, including community leaders, non-governmental organisations representatives and professional bodies should not be more than 25 people, he said.

The latest list of committee members:

1. Paul Low Seng Kuan (chairman), Minister in the Prime Minister Department; former minister Idris Jala (deputy chairman), Pemandu chief executive; Dr Anis Yusal Yusoff (secretary); president of Malaysian Institute of Integrity; Johan Jaafar, chairman of Consultation and Corruption Prevention Panel; Abdul Rashid Abdul Rahman, former Election Commission chairman; Rastam Mohd Isa, chairman of Institute of Strategic and International Studies;

Sharifah Hapsah Syed Hasan Shahbudin, president of National Council of Women’s Organisation Malaysia; Dr Shamsul Amri Baharuddin; director of Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia’s Institute of Ethnic Studies; Akhbar Satar, president of Transparency International Malaysia; Wan Saiful Wan Jan, chief executive of Institute for Democracy and Economic Affairs; Gan Peng Sieu, co-chairman of Centre for a Better Tomorrow;

Assoc. Prof. Dr Madeline Berma, director of UKM Tun Fatimah Hashim Centre for Women’s Leadership; Assoc. Prof. Dr Sivamurugan Pandian, lecturer at Universiti Sains Malaysia’s School of Social Sciences; Assoc. Prof. Dr Mohd Azizuddin Mohd Sani, dean of Universiti Utara Malaysia School of International Studies; Richard Y.W.Yeoh, activist; Akram Yusof, youth leader; Jufitri Joha, youth leader; and Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, youth leader.


Leave a comment